On turning twenty-seven

Pleas’d look forward, pleas’d to look behind,
And count each birthday with a grateful mind.
– Alexander Pope

I had a lovely birthday dinner at Bistro Parisienne surrounded by my nearest and dearest. Thanks Ryan, Jiayuan, Fengnian, Adi, Sno, Faisal, Jeff, Dzaki and Eugene for coming! The gifts were nothing short of lovely too- from the extravagant (jewelry! leather goods from cityluxe!) to the practical (books, book vouchers, ang pao!) to the edible (mooncake!), I love them all. But most of all I am happy we broke bread together.

To be honest, I feel none the wiser (Harliestotle! I am not), but I am more self-aware- what I like, what I don’t, what ticks me, what I expect of myself . Is self-knowledge a kind of wisdom?  I am more critical now than ever; I have to remind myself that it’s fine to be my harshest critic, but to always treat others with kindness. I have experienced this kindness when I didn’t deserve any, and I am not about to forget how that made me feel.

There was a breeze that night, and Eugene had a tough time trying to light the candle. In the end, the candle was lit at the final moments of the song. I blew the candle, but made no wish.

The world is my oyster, and wishing… is such a futile exercise!

See also Birthday 2011: Sunday’s Child turned 26 this week

2 thoughts on “On turning twenty-seven

Leave a Reply

