Psycho CEOs and the Black Knight’s Ring

The first time I attempted reading American Psycho, I gave up because I found Bateman and his obsessive description of people’s attires annoying and tiring to read. At my second attempt, I still found him repulsive but intriguing at the same time. People have told me they had to put the book down because some scenes were too gruesome; whenever I read a gory part I had to ask myself, “Was this when Tom/Dick/Sue had to stop?” then carried on reading anyway.  

I think Brett Easton Ellis is a genius for having written American Psycho. I wondered what the articles about bands and music were about- they are fluffy writing, very technical and showy, but soulless (thanks Ryan, why you so clever?). And I think the scariest part about reading the novel and going into Patrick Bateman’s head was the possibility that these people live amongst us. 

By the way, according to The Psychopath Test: A Journey Through the Madness Industry by Jon Ronson,  CEOs are 4 times more likely to be psychopaths than the general population. Oooh baby.

Another book I’m done reading is Shermay Loh’s new book, Archibald and the Black Knight’s Ring (heh heh I don’t think it’s even out in stores yet). I love thrillers and mystery, and enjoy pretending to be a sleuth once in awhile. This doesn’t disappoint- an easy read, devoured in three hours, with a very satisfying end!

If you happen to be on Goodreads, add me! :)

Leave a Reply

