“No wonder you turned out the way you did!”

Mummy   : YH won’t be coming back next term; we’re enrolling him to childcare
Colleague: Awwwh I will miss you YH!
Mummy   : I hope he will adjust to life in childcare
Me              : I am sure you will do jusssssst fine in childcare, YH! I entered childcare at 18 months and look at me, I turned out fine!
Colleague: Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh you were in childcare since you were 18 months!?!?! No wonder you turned out the way you did!
Me              : WHY? What do you mean?
Colleague: There you go again with your endless ‘why’s.

Yeah, I do ask plenty of questions! I put it down to natural inquisitiveness (busybody) :D

I still don’t know what she means by “No wonder you turned out the way you did” though, I am going to assume it’s a positive thing! Childcare is great for learning to be social, getting along with people, and learning how to get what you want.

Makes me wish I wrote ‘ALL I REALLY NEED TO KNOW I LEARNED IN KINDERGARTEN’, by Robert Fulghum! Here’s a short, if you’re not familiar with the book.

3 thoughts on ““No wonder you turned out the way you did!”

  1. teachersuzannah says:

    Hahaa! Yea I’ve noticed that children from childcares are most sociable and friendly… maybe that’s what she was referring to!

    LOL “learning how to get what you want”!?!? Is that a good thing or a bad thing? :D *Haha, pictures running through my mind of me teaching my class how to get what they want, ie scheme lol! :D*

Leave a Reply

