3 things I learnt from The Gruffalo

The Gruffalo
The Gruffalo

Well, actually these are the three things I learnt from the Mouse in The Gruffalo.

The Gruffalo by Julia Donaldson remains my favourite read-aloud book. In fact, this is one of the books I have committed to memory.

1) If it doesn’t exist, you must make it up

Yep- necessity is the mother of invention! The Mouse created the Gruffalo to scare his predators, and as a bonus, he did this all in rhyme (which I love)!

2) Always know who is working for whom

When the Gruffalo materialised (oops! We thought it was a figment of Mouse’s imagination!), he was put under the impression that the animals are going to be afraid of Mouse.

Little did he know!

3) Be bigger than you really are

There are a few refrains in this book that makes it an enjoyable read- one of them is the Mouse telling the animals he meets in the woods just what the Gruffalo’s favourite food is. When he met the fox, the Gruffalo’s favourite food is ‘roasted fox’. When he met the snake, the Gruffalo’s favourite food is ‘scrambled snake’.

This is a theme that continues in The Gruffalo’s Child- I won’t spoil it for you if you haven’t read that one!

What is your favourite children’s book?

5 thoughts on “3 things I learnt from The Gruffalo

  1. Hey Harlina, I was introduced to Gruffalo by my lecturer today while we were doing language arts… gotta get my hands on it and see what it’s about!

    I’m getting hooked to storytelling now! :)

    1. YEAP! And she introduced me to Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes, which I now love and share with my charges.

      I’m guessing you took the side of ‘Phonics’ in the Great Debate (P vs. WL)? ;)

  2. Wahahaa, you guessed right! She didn’t really let us pick which side we wanted to be on, but it came out right for me! I don’t think I could have done much good for the other side anyway. :P Our class is pretty enthusiastic when it comes to debates, though; so I was glad I had done all that research on phonics earlier. Hahahaaaa, Jeanne S. Chall won many hearts over to her side in the debate, I think. :D

    Aiyoh, I’m so tempted to ask which intake you’re in… and yet not be kaypo. Still think it’s so cool that I meet a senior by accident. *Serendipity!*

    And hehe, yes, I love Chrysanthemum too, especially the Scholastic Video Collection’s redition of Victoria! ;) Need to find a copy of it!

    Ook, sorry this one got so looong!

Leave a Reply

