Week 1: Where’s Spot? by Eric Hill

Where's Spot? by Eric Hill
One of my first books!

One of my earliest memories was being read to, and although I don’t always remember the stories, I remember lying in bed with either parent reading book after book while they tried to lull me to sleep. Sometimes they cheated and skipped parts (and I’d notice), oftentimes they fell asleep before I did!

Where’s Spot? by Eric Hill was one of my first books. It’s a deceptively simple book, but what did it for me was the talk around the book- naming Spot’s friends (there was a hippo, monkey, croccy, and a turtle if I remember correctly!), going no, no, no! and turning the page. I liked turning the page!

When I read this story now, I use it to introduce/reinforce directional words (under, over, out, in). Another great book I use to introduce directional words is Going on a Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen.

Now it’s your turn- what was your first book?

About this project: once a week for a year, I write a post about a book, writer, or person who has captured my imagination and contributed to my reading experience. This is an idea I plucked from  Ratna Rajaiah over at Choti Moo. She has a Twitter challenge- to name a writer or poet who has enthralled her, every day, for a year.

4 thoughts on “Week 1: Where’s Spot? by Eric Hill

  1. What fun! Mine was The Land of Peek-a-Boo, and The Bear That Was Left Behind. :)

    Hey, I never guessed that the bear hunt originated from a book! I learned the hand actions and the words in a sort of rhyme-with-hand-actions, but I never did read the book! So interesting!

    1. Thanks for commenting, Suzannah! It’s nice to know someone’s reading :)

      I think what you learnt is the whole bear hunt book! Go check it out at a library!

Leave a Reply

