Family Portrait

Big brother is nowhere!
Little brother hides (his handphone, and ice-cream {and sexuality})
Father is home, home from his practice
Mother’s in bed she’s asleep
Little sister -the brains- practices her strokes
brush and ink on paper
Father roars for big brother (nowhere)
Little brother calls Kor kor!
It’s time to practice your lines!
Come out now, here, Papa is waiting
You don’t want him cross
I’m going to do my chores
(and before I do I should drink some cola)

Little sister is busy sribbling (the family historian)
Mother’s still a-sleeping
Big brother is no-where
And father he is seething
Son, long I have waited
It’s time to go through your lines
With military precision, no less
For soon there will be none to look over you
So you will have to be the best.

Here comes the best.

“2 x 2 = 4
2 x 3 = 6
2 x 4 = 8
2 x 5 = 10 (and so on)”

Dad, I request your permission
to invite a lass to my party
She is rather fetching
(and with her I’d make a child)

You call that fetching, now?
I feel like retching, no.
I say no, son.
But another Ching can be arranged.
Ken-ching? Big brother tried
Dad tried him and found him guilty
Big brother said 2 x 2 = 4 and tried to bear
no grudge

…. 15 million x 2 = 30 million”

Sister is wailing (hungry)
Let’s eat says dad
Little brother’s nowhere
Big brother’s done reciting
Shhh he says

Mother is asleep

Leave a Reply

