Chinatown

Chinatown, originally uploaded by oharlie.

Chinatown was hot, humid, and packed with school children, their teachers and parents, tourists, and CNY shoppers.

I didn’t lose any of my charges (thank goodness) and overall I think the kids had fun. I felt like I was playing a game- the objective is to tour around Chinatown, maneuver huge crowds without losing your charges, all this while keeping your sanity. Players who find toilets get bonus points, ditto those who manage to find a shop where the proprietor was warm and friendly- you will not believe how many grumps there are in Chinatown. Little wonder their shops had no customers.

What did I gain from this trip? A fever. Oh and an understanding of how popular Bee Cheng Hiang is! I saw soooo many foreign workers in the queue, and one of the teachers suggested that they were hired to stand in line- you will not believe how long the queue was. Insane!

Didn’t get a picture, cos I had my hands full and my mind was on making sure no one got lost in the sea of pre-school children, their teachers and parents, tourists, and CNY shoppers.

Leave a Reply

